Living with Dyslexia

A poem about dealing with dyslexia as a student:

Round and round…
Back to front…
This is how I see the world.

Letters on the page
They play games
Musical chairs…
Hiding from me
Changing positions against my will
Making spelling hard.

Round and round…
Back to front…
This is how I see the world.

Numbers on the test
Forever moving, never still
Rub your eyes, they may stop…
They float around in my brain
But can never be kept on paper
Making maths hard.

Round and round…
Back to front…
This is how I see the world.

The mind knows what to say
But something goes wrong
In the pathway in between…
Words are missing sounds
The ramblings of the d***ed
Making speaking hard.

Round and round…
Back to front…
This is how I see the world.

A blur of black smudges
Eyes frantically scanning the page
Searching for answers
Mind not absorbing much

All I see is movement
All I EVER see is movement.

My eyes can’t stay in one place
For it moves…

So my eyes wander…

Will it ever stop?
Can I be cured?
Is there a way to stop the letters and numbers and words
From moving…?

No.

Can I live with it…?

I have no choice BUT to.

by Tayla Cleland. Read more of Tayla’s work at http://tayla19.deviantart.com/

