Reading ruler

I’ve been asked by several people about the reading ruler that was described in the newspaper article (http://www.journalgazette.net/article/20131006/LOCAL04/310069934&template=printart).

I make those myself. Each one is custom-designed for each student I tutor.

They are easy to make. On the computer, I draw a rectangle in the color and size that the student prefers. I then draw an arrow with a large dot on the left and the arrowhead on the right. I print them on a transparency (like those used for overhead projectors) and cut them out.

When designing the ruler, make sure the colors on the computer screen are much darker than what you’d prefer because the colors will wash out on the transparency.

Transparencies can be expensive if you buy them by the box. However, office supply stores like Staples will often allow you to purchase a single transparency from their printing department. They will even print the ruler for you. Just ask!

